top of page
  • Writer's picturephteh


The Prime Minister of Malaysia (“PM”) announced that a Movement Control Order (“MCO”) will be implemented from 18 March 2020 – 14 April 2020 (“Period”) under the Prevention and Control of Infectious Diseases Act 1988 and Police Act 1967.

These actions, defining the country’s lockdown, include:

First, the general prohibition of movement and mass assembly throughout Malaysia including religious, sports, social and cultural activities. All houses of worship and business premises should be closed, except for supermarkets, public markets, grocery stores and stores department stores selling everyday necessities. For Muslims, the postponement of all religious activities in mosques and "surau" including Friday prayers Second, the sanctions cover all Malaysians travelling abroad. Those who have just returned are required to undergo health checks and voluntary quarantine (or self-quarantine) for 14 days; Third, the restriction on entry of all foreign tourists and visitors to the country; Fourth, closure of all kindergartens, government and private schools including daily schools, boarding schools, international schools, tahfiz centres and other primary, secondary and pre-university educational institutions; Fifth, the closure of all public and private institutions of higher learning and skills training institutes nationwide; and Sixth, the closure of all government and private premises except those involved with the country’s essential services (water, electricity, power, telecommunications, postal, transportation, irrigation, oil, gas, fuel, lubricants, broadcasting, finance, banking, health, pharmacy, fire, prison, port, airport, security, defence, cleaning, retail and food supply).

The Government issued the Prevention and Control of Infectious Diseases (Measures within the Infected Local Areas) Regulations 2020 (“Regulations”) which laid down the relevant regulations in relation to the movement restriction for the period 18 March 2020 to 31 March 2020. A new set of regulations have been issued, Prevention and Control of Infectious Diseases (Measures within Infected Local Areas) (No.2) Regulations 2020 will be in force from 1 April 2020 to 14 April 2020 (“New Regulations”).

**Please note though that the above statement do not constitute legal advice and as the situation remains fluid, the legal position may change in the near future. 

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page